Adventures in Tulle

In the past few years since I’ve found my femininity along with my self confidence in my figure, I have begun wearing a lot of skirts and dresses. If I ever decided to show my collection of sewing patterns you will see my obsession reflected in this. I have hundreds πŸ™‚ lol.

I also really admire 50’s and Rockabilly styling. It’s definitely a style that suits plus size figures. So I’ve decided to try and add a few more pieces to my wardrobe. First starting with a pettiskirt. I’ll be perfectly honest and say I have never actually worked with tulle before so it was a bit of a learning curve for me. I also didn’t use a pattern. But I looked at about 50 different tutorials on Pinterest. Though none really suited plus sizes in the type of skirt I wanted. So after winging it, it didn’t turn out too bad but I know what I would do different next time.

Here is the finished result (sorry for the messy sewing room).

20140621-135629-50189998.jpg

I ended up with a two tier skirt alternating in black and red. On the lower edge of the skirt I did a tight red ruffle on the black and vice versa on the red.

So now all I have to do is make some skirts so stay tuned πŸ˜‰

Oh and a big welcome to my new followers πŸ™‚ thanks for your support

Leave a Reply

