Lazy Sunday sew day

Hello lovelies ๐Ÿ™‚

I hope everyone is having a great weekend. I have actually been sick most of it so haven’t really done much of anything to be honest. I have bronchitis and it’s really knocked me on my rear end.

Moving on……. So the other day I posted that red and black tulle pettiskirt I made and I mentioned that I’d have to make a skirt to go with it. Well I became a little motivated yesterday and picked out some fabric and did a pre-wash. Aaaaaand that was as far as I got lol.

So today after sitting around on my backside wallowing in my germ infested self pity until about midday ๐Ÿ˜‰ I again found a shred of motivation. Grabbed the fabric out of the dryer and managed draw, cut and sew the whole skirt in about 3 hours lol. Pitiful I know. I mean I am not the fastest sewer on the planet on my best day but I had a couple of phone calls and numerous coughing fits in the time period……yeah yeah blah blah poor me *blows raspberry*.

Now I do apologise for my crappy photos. My hubby does the best he can in the poor lighting on my iPhone. When I become rich I will hire a proper photographer lol.

Cutting out fabric

20140622-180121-64881364.jpg

Front shot with pettiskirt underneath

20140622-180851-65331964.jpg

Side shot with pettiskirt

20140622-180945-65385175.jpg

And here is a couple without the pettiskirt underneath

20140622-181123-65483946.jpg

20140622-181124-65484360.jpg

All in all I am pretty happy with it. It’s super comfy. And I think I’ll make a few more. Just need to tweak my measurements a tad.

Thanks again for reading and hope to share some more soon ๐Ÿ™‚ bye for now xx

5 thoughts on “Lazy Sunday sew day

    • Hi Eliza,
      I was actually discussing this with someone last night. It all depends on the width of your fabric I guess. The way I work it out for 44 inch fabric is I take my waist radius (8″) + the length including the hem – 2″ then x by 4.

      So 8″+(36-2)= 42″x 4= 168 inches or 4.27m.

      I like my skirts as long as possible and don’t like to waste fabric so as a general rule of thumb for 44inch fabric I buy 4.5m. That will leave room for error plus you need extra for the waistband and if you choose to add pockets that will cover it.

      For 60″ fabric it’s up to you. You could do a full circle with no seams like what I did with the black dress with the tiny white flowers. But for ladies our size it can be a teeny bit short (I just wear leggings under) in which case you only need to fold your fabric selvage to selvage so now the width is 30″. The just work out the width the same as before except x by 2 and fold the fabric in half again lengthwise

      So 8″+(22″-2″)=28″x2= 56inches or 1.42metres

      Again I would get 2m so I have enough for the waistband or if you want to add pockets.

      I hope that helped ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Hi Liliales. Yeah I used the same method as in the Sewcation part 4 post. I just added a waist band and zip. I make heaps of them. I’ve been meaning to do a proper tutorial but things have been hectic.

Leave a Reply

