Because I really needed an excuse to make another dress πŸ˜œ

Hello lovelies ❀️

As the heading suggests, I am about to share with you my latest creation.

My beautiful cousin Leia was married on the 1st of November. In true form I used this as an excuse to make another frock 😊. And so came the trouble of choosing a style, pattern and fabric. The problem was that I have sooooooo much fabric and sooooooo many patterns but not so much time…..eek.

I ended up going through my iPad (I am a serial screen shooter) inspiration photos and narrowed it down to 4 styles which were the following.

IMG_1195.PNG

Then I chose 4 fabrics that would suit those styles…..

IMG_1196.PNG

But I was at a loss. I simply couldn’t decide. So I uploaded both photos to my personal page plus a couple of sewing groups on facebook and took a vote over 24 hours. And the majority voted C3….. So that’s what I made.

I didn’t have a pattern so I had to make my own….which for a first timer was a little daunting. And after a few failed attempts I decided to just simplify it. It is basically a rectangle that i increased one end on the fold and rounded it off. And gathered under each breast (Forgot to take photos of the process after the first couple of failures). Added a waistband and a lovely long circle skirt.

IMG_2463.JPG

IMG_2464.JPG

And added a few buttons for effect.

IMG_2475.JPG

IMG_2474.JPG

To me it seemed to be missing something though. You guessed it! It wasn’t full enough. So I made a petti skirt 😊

IMG_2476.JPG

I used the 50’s petti skirt tutorial on the Burda Style website as a guideline.

IMG_2545.JPG

And here is the finished product. I love it.

IMG_2498-0.JPG

IMG_2504-0.JPG

IMG_2506-0.JPG

IMG_2508.JPG

IMG_2510-0.JPG

10 thoughts on “Because I really needed an excuse to make another dress πŸ˜œ

    • Hi Melissa. For the White one I used the cheapest cotton voile (I think it was) that I could find. It was about $3 per metre. It was quite soft and not too stiff so was very comfortable to wear. And I finished the lower edge with normal bias binding. Would be a great petti for the cooler months.

  1. Hello!

    I’m at editor for AllFreeSewing.com. We are an online directory of sorts to, as the name suggests, free sewing tutorials. I’m writing to ask if we could have permission to link to your sewing tutorials. We would write a brief description of the tutorial, use one project photo, credit you, and of course link directly to your post on your blog. Please let me know if this is OK.

    Thank you!

    • Hi Anne,

      I know the website. I am actually a subscriber myself. And yes of course that is ok. Id be honoured for you to link to my tutorials. Thank you for asking 😊

      Michelle

      • The outfits you make are sooo flattering, I’m inspired by you! I’m just about to sew my first tunic.. lol. Would love to learn how to refashion old clothes though. I have alot of them πŸ™‚ any chance you do tutorials on that?

    • Hi Tracey,
      I didn’t actually have a pattern for that one. I had planned on making my own up. It would basically be a flared pillowcase style dress brought in with a belt. Or use the method for the pillowcase dress for the bodice and add a circle skirt. Hope that helps 😊

Leave a Reply

